OLED Display Hello World #4675

This is a discussion for the OLED Display Hello World #4675. Feel free to connect with the Learning Team here, or to discuss experiment tips, ask questions, leave comments or suggest experiment variations here.

The kids loved this because they felt real success when they could manipulate the code to say THEIR words! They especially loved seeing THEIR NAME on the screen and thought it was rad. As a math teacher, I could see them using this to reveal an answer to a problem (anything to change up the same old, same old brings new enthusiasm). Code breaking with a cipher could be neat, too. As the teacher, it is great to be their to guide them and really allow them to figure out how to be successful and how to use this in a real situation. They were already curious what the code must look like for stadium signs and such which I thought was a wonderful connection. It would be neat to also see them play a “password” type game where they may communicate a word with the screen and one team could use ways to get the other team to guess the password. Plug that into any vocabulary review or literary study/review and you have instant buy in, motivation, engagement, and excitment. I could keep going, but it’s safe to say, we loved this activity and will be utilizing it again!

1 Like

Thank you so much for your comments Becky! Excellent new curriculum suggestions!

Hi everyone!!

This is a really cool activity for initial exploration.

1. Where does this lesson fit in with your curriculum (if the lesson is not a fit for the class you teach, how could the lesson be modified so that it is applicable to your curriculum)?

This is a great way to start any code-based STEM course, because the students gain a good sense of confidence in how they can manipulate the outcome of a program, and it is fun. This fits any curriculum, and should be included as part of the first unit.